NOTE TO MY 25-YEAR-OLD SELF

Dear my 25-year-old self,

How are things? I hope all is fantastic.

I’m writing this note to let you know that i’m thankful for everything. I’m grateful because, if not for your courage to decide to go overseas to try your luck in finding what else is out there, i don’t think i will be able to do all the things i have done for the past six years. I don’t think i will be able to acquire those experiences if you stayed in your comfort zone.

Most importantly, I don’t think I will be able to get to see those places I thought i can only see from the magazines and in my dreams if you didn’t change your way of thinking. Thank you for bringing me to where I am right now. If not for you, i think we’ll both be feeling stuck and miserable and lonely and regretful for not trying at all.

I remember your optimism when you’re about to graduate from college, you once told yourself “I will never go abroad to work, I will be successful here in the Philippines five years tops.” And so you thought.

I remember you attending an interview for an internship right before you graduate from college and you were asked “How do you see yourself five years from now?” and i lucidly remember your answer with conviction “Well, i will driving my dream car, probably a Benz or BMW, having my own business and living in a penthouse of a condominium somewhere in Makati.” and you can’t read the interviewer’s face reaction if it was hostile or wanted to oppose your high hopes and dreams as she managed to conceal her emotions pretty well. She may have thought “This poor boy is definitely daydreaming. He has all the optimism in this world and doesn’t really know how hard it is in real life.” and she’s probably laughing on the inside while mumbling to herself “Wait ’til you see! Dream on!” (And if you ever wonder if i bagged that post, hell no i didn’t!)

And so you thought.

But then, you still moved on and persevered and tried to catch up on how the world works and reflected and realized that your aspirations in life is quite high and you needed to adjust not on what you want but what doesn’t work in what you do. I’m glad it dawned on you that what you earn doesn’t equate to how much you burn and you needed to do something about it. And so you did.

Well, I may not be driving your dream car right now or think of even owning one in the near future, “But hey, commuting is very fine here anyway.” I may not be owning nor managing my business “But hey, I have a job that pays the rent and travels.” And if there’s one thing we managed to achieve in your five-year vision of yourself, “It’s this penthouse-loft I’m living in for a year now. I know it’s not in Makati but hey it’s in a fine area in the east coast of Singapore. Besides, i know it doesn’t matter anymore cause i think you have outgrown those ideas already.”

Right now,  your 31-year-old-self is doing all he could to make your 35-year-old-self more grateful and happy. He wants to make sure you’re alright when you reach that time. He just wants to do more good and be better. He wants to collect more memories to cherish. He wants to spend more time with his friends and family as much as he could. He  doesn’t want to stop from learning new things and he’s not afraid for new changes that may come along the way, in fact he’s looking forward to it.

I guess, we’ll just have to wait and see! πŸ™‚

 

What about you? “What will you say to your 25-year-old self or the younger-version-of-yourself?” or “Have you ever think of what your 35-year-old or 40-year-old self will say to you five to ten years down the road?” Well, i believe it’s about time we make some thinking to do of what we want to achieve and what we want to be five to ten years time.

We can either start today or not at all. But let me tell you this:

“A Year from Now, You May Wish You Had Started Today”

the choice is always yours. So if you have something in mind that bothers you in a way that you cannot sleep at night, then you gotta start doing it. Figure out a way, cause maybe not a year from now but rather years from now when you’re old and have a little time left, it will haunt you. It will make you keep thinking “what if i have done this” “What if i have done that” and your life will be full of what ifs and regrets. You deserve better. We all deserve better. So let’s start to be better.

 

 

Cheers!

7:AM

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Wow…
    So beautifully written a gift for yourself…
    Amazed by writting skill.
    Kudos to u….

    Like

Leave a Reply

